Meet Braydan Pastucha

Braydan 1.jpg

VP: External 2016-17
Year: 2nd (technically)
Faculty + Specialization: Combined Sciences— Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics


If I could be any (real or not!) creature, I would be a/an…

…Bayleef! It’s a Pokemon – I’ve always loved Chikorita and thought its ‘budding’ personality suited me, but I’m a bit more evolved than that. Bayleef is awkward and unabashedly excited.

braydan 2.gif

The person who inspires/taught me the most is…

…Bill Nye, who has helped to shape my life in so many ways, from sparking my interest in science to providing resources for my understanding of global warming and other issues facing our generation.

braydan 3.gif

If money wasn’t a concern, I would pack my bags ASAP and vacation away to…

…I’m not much of a traveler but I’ve always wanted to go on a world-spanning adventure of ancient civilizations. So Egypt, Mexico, Central America, Mesopotamia, and more. (Assuming I can’t go to Mars)

The most valuable lesson/advice I’ve learned is…

1) Everyone has bad days, bad months, and bad years. It’s important to remember everyone has their own lives and we’re all stumbling to make it work every day. A little help goes a long way to helping someone make it through.

2) From Walt Whitman’s “Song of Myself”:

Do I contradict myself?

Very well then I contradict myself,

(I am large, I contain multitudes.)

Everyone contains multitudes – people are infinitely complex and infinitely unknowable and trying to categorize them as one unchanging thing is not only pointless, it’s not useful.

I joined the UBC Pre-Education Club because…

I had recently transferred schools and established that I wanted to be a teacher. It was important for me to find a club that I could be active in that was related to my future career; Pre-Ed was a great fit!


Tune in next week to meet our Secretary!

Author:

A resource for University of British Columbia Undergraduates hoping to become a teacher/educator or are just passionate about education. If you're thinking of applying to become a teacher and have any concerns, are looking for experience, want to learn more about teaching as a career path, or you're passionate about education in the community, then we'd love to have you join our club! We host a variety of events throughout the year: from social events that give you the chance to network with fellow peers who are also thinking of becoming a teacher, to professional events where you can meet teacher candidates, experienced teachers, and representatives from relevant volunteer organizations. We also host collaborative events with other campus clubs and organizations, such as fundraisers for charity and teaching workshops. Keep up with us on social media!: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UBCpreeducation Twitter: https://twitter.com/ubcpreeducation Website: https://ubcpreeducationclub.wordpress.com Email: ubcpreeducation@gmail.com OrgSync: https://orgsync.com/113175/chapter

Leave a Reply

